One Year California Anniversary

I have officially lived in California for one year.

The way the last half of this year has gone, though, I sometimes forget how big a deal it is that I moved across the country to live on my own in a rural town in California. But instead of regretting the 3-4 months I spent not being the person I want to be, I choose to take a moment celebrating the things I have accomplished in the last 365 days.

Here’s a list to remind myself:

Life-changing:

  • I moved across the United States with nearly all my belongings packed into my tiny little car.
  • I started a new job where I am recognized and complimented for my general competence.
  • I took a class in GIS and was hired by the GiS Education Center to work as the Communications Lead.
  • I bout an RV, moved in, and am making plans to remodel the interior and live here as long as I possibly can.

Adventuring:

  • I attempted to see the Grand Canyon. And while I failed to see the Grand Canyon (more on this another time), it was a great experience regardless – especially the part where I successfully camped in 19° weather with my friend who’s never camped before. We lit a fire and set up camp in under 20 mins!
  • I biked across the Golden Gate Bridge with my college besties.
  • I told a story at the Moth StorySLAM, which was a wholly new and amazing experience which I hope to repeat. I was shaking I was so nervous, but I’m told you can’t tell in the video…(more on this another time!)
  • I participated in two youtube videos hosted by PaulTalks, which was a new and awesome experience. The first has been posted, and the second will be posted sometime later this year.
  • I went wine tasting for the first time (well, the first time, but there were twelve or so wineries involved…)
  • I put about 23,000 miles on Gabby (my car). I’m not sure it counts as an actual adventure, but it certainly is notable…
  • I road tripped four hours round trip to have a tasting at a winery my friend loved – and it was great.

In Dance:

  • I joined an all-girls vintage solo jazz troupe called the Honeysuckle Roses, with whom I’ve performed twice.
  • I worked as a staff member at LindyFest with the Lonestar Championships, Fog City Stomp, and Lindy Focus.
  • I taught the Big Apple to a whole bunch of people, and it was awesome.
  • I’ve danced as a lead at almost every single dance I attended.

Friends and Family:

  • I visited home for a month and was reminded that I made an impact during my time there, and I have an amazing community I can return to if I ever want or need.
  • I made some particularly awesome new friendships – notably my coworker Amanda, who is a rockstar at life.
  • I rekindled some particularly awesome old friendships – notably my friend David, who inspired me to work in GIS and is truly an awesome person.
  • I got a cat named Willa Mae. She lived a short life, but she was my best friend during that time.
  • I got a dog named Moby. He is now my best friend, and he makes me a better person (notably, I have a niece due to be born in the next month, so Moby’s place as the most adorable living being in my life is currently under threat)

Food Adventures:

  • I knowingly* ate the following foods for the first time: figs, strawberries, cherries, nectarines, green onions, eggplant, mushrooms, brussels sprouts, artichokes, leeks, chicken pot pie, clam chowder, most any type of soup, etc.
  • I learned to (somewhat competently) make the following foods: sautéed veggies, broccoli pesto, Italian vegetable soup, avocado pie (with a homemade graham cracker crust), chicken and dumplings, vegetables and dumplings, and lemon baked chicken.
  • There are multiple people in my life now who have never known me as a picky eater. Some are even surprised when lingering picky habits crop up and I have to mention something.

*There’s a chance I’ve eaten some of these things before, but never by conscious choice.

I also had a great weekend recently with one of my besties, Christina. We discussed a lot of important life things, and we’ve settled on a toast which is mutually relevant: “To taking care of ourselves.” This toast was performed with a fantastic drink made of blood orange juice and champagne – and it’s a toast I intend to keep.

20140322_175437

4 thoughts on “One Year California Anniversary

  1. Mary Collins says:

    Congratulations Cari, I’ve enjoyed reading you on FB.
    Btw, those delightful concoctions are aka Mimosas. 🙂

    1. Haha, yes! I am familiar with Mimosas. Though apparently it’s called a “Bleeding Mimosa” when you use a blood orange – I knew the name was slightly different, but I had to look it up just now.

Leave a comment